Sound of a penny dropping

Now I know… I need to keep learning.

When did the penny drop for you?

When did you realise that it was absolutely vital for you to never, ever stop learning?

The spark for this post was when I found this quote that I had written down over two years ago:

‘Learning is the essential fuel for a leader, the source of high octane fuel that keeps up the energy by continually sparking new understandings, new ideas and challenges.  It is indispensable under todays conditions of rapid change and complexity. Those who do not learn do not survive long as leaders.’ Bennis and Nanus 1985

It is the first line of this quote that jumps out for me…the essential fuel. One of the definitions in the dictionary for essential is:

‘fundamental or central to the nature of something or someone’.

Learning is fundamental and central to my day as a educator, leader and a human being.

Looking back on my career / life I have tried to pinpoint when the ‘penny dropped’ for me. When did I realise that I had to keep learning? There are the times that I have moved schools and this has always meant change and learning as well as confidence building. There are courses that I have been on and conferences that I have attended where learning and the tools for learning have become more defined in my life. There are encounters both in and outside of schools with a wide variety of people that have increased this desire to be the very best I can in all that I do and this must include learning. There are the hundreds and thousands on interactions with the amazing children that I have worked with that have led to learning for both of us.

I have always wanted to try new things, learn from my mistakes so rather than the penny dropping suddenly I feel that it has been a gradual process for me and has built up for the twenty years (this year!) that I have been in this wonderful profession.

The image that springs to mind is one of the penny machines in a seaside arcade.

 

 

It does not feel difficult anymore. In fact the most difficult things is that I get slightly anxious that I will not have enough time to learn all the that I need but this may be to do with the time and place that I live in.

My pennies keep dropping.

Do yours?

Leave a Reply

